"Archer captures the voices & vulnerabilities of her characters with precision." – Publisher's Weekly

Archive for the category “Updates”

Happy Book Birthday to THE SHADOW GIRL!!

Finally…FINALLY…the day I’ve been awaiting for so long has arrived! Today is release day for my new young adult novel, THE SHADOW GIRL. Yay! Happy birthday to all of the characters in the book, but especially to Lily and Iris. Now, I ask, what’s a birthday without presents??? To celebrate, I’m giving away six, count ’em, SIX great prizes to six readers.

  1. An autographed copy of THE SHADOW GIRL by Jennifer Archer

    The Shadow Girl | Jennifer Archer

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!
    Available now 4/09/13

  2. An autographed copy of THROUGH HER EYES by Jennifer Archer
  3. An autographed copy of SPLINTERED by A.G. Howard
  4. The audiobook of SPLINTERED by A.G. Howard
  5. ALTERED by Jennifer Rush
  6. BEAUTIFUL DISASTER by Jamie McGuire

As I said, great prizes, right? And one of them could be yours! But first you have to enter the giveaway by doing a thing, or two, or three. Or however many “things” you choose to do. (See Rafflecopter details below. Click the link if you don’t see the widget. THIS CONTEST IS INTERNATIONAL)

Six Fab Prizes

IMG_1490 The Mod Podge Book Tour for THE SHADOW GIRL started yesterday and is in full swing. Today on the tour I’m at  I Am A Reader, Not A Writer http://www.iamareader.com/2013/04/the-shadow-girl-by-jennifer-archer-blog-tour-guest-post.html. If you missed yesterday’s post, check it out at http://www.iceybooks.com/2013/04/guest-post-with-jennifer-archer-author.html. I hope you’ll follow all 12 stops, as well as the second 6 stop tour to follow, hosted by Itching For Books. Click on the banners below for information about both tours, including dates and stops. You might have to scroll down the page a bit once you click to find The Shadow Girl. (Each tour features its own giveaway, both with a different lineup of prizes than the one above!!)

Shadow Girl Modge Podge Blog Tour

The Shadow Girl Itching For Books Blog Tour

  Before you check out the details for entering the giveaway, here’s a little snippet about THE SHADOW GIRL, courtesy of my magnificent publisher Harper Teen:

Sometimes I forget for an hour or two that she’s with me. Sometimes I convince myself that she was only a dream.

Or that I’m crazy

For as long as Lily Winston can remember, she has never been alone. Iris, a shadowy figure who mimics Lily’s movements and whispers in her ear, is with her always — but invisible to the rest of the world. Iris is Lily’s secret. But when Lily’s father is killed in a tragic accident, his cryptic final words suggest that he and Lily’s mother have been hiding secrets of their own. Suddenly, Iris begins pushing Lily more than ever, possessing her thoughts and urging her to put together the pieces of a strange puzzle her father left behind. As she searches for answers, Lily finds herself drawn to Ty Collier, a mysterious new boy in town. Together, Lily and Ty must untangle a web of deception to discover the truth about her family, Iris — and Lily’s own identity.  The Shadow Girl is a chilling, mind-bending mystery filled with stunning twists, haunting reveals, and a realistic setting with a supernatural touch that’s perfect for fans of Before I Fall  and If I Stay.   a Rafflecopter giveaway

Share

Twice is Nice!

Two of my back list books in two different genres are re-releasing today — both dressed up in brand new duds! My young adult novel Through Her Eyes is available for the first time in paperback, and my paranormal romantic comedy Shocking Behavior is available from Samhain Publishing in ebook format with a completely different cover. Check ’em out!

  Every ghost has a story to tell . . .

The last thing Tansy Piper wanted was to move to the middle of nowhere  in   Cedar Canyon, Texas. Once there, her life takes a chilling turn when she finds a pocket watch, a journal of poetry, and a tiny crystal in the cellar of her new home.

The items belonged to Henry, a troubled teenager who lived in the house and died decades earlier. And Tansy, an amateur photographer, soon discovers that through the crystal and her photographs, she can become part of Henry’s surreal black-and-white world.

But the more time Tansy spends in the past, the more her present world fades away. Can she escape Henry’s dangerous reality before losing touch with her own life forever?

Amazon     Barnesandnoble.com  Harper Teen

 

She might not be able to see him, but she knows how he makes her feel.

Growing up with a mad scientist as a father wasn’t easy, and J.T. Drake wants nothing to do with his dad’s wild experiments now that he’s an adult. But when a late-night trip to his father’s lab results in a newfound gift for invisibility, only his father’s assistant, Rosalyn Peabody, can help him.

Rosalyn has never met her boss’s son, but she knows he’s an ungrateful child who doesn’t appreciate his father’s genius. And yet, every time they touch, sparks fly. But will their undeniable chemistry continue even after J.T. is cured? And can a science-phobic man and a science-focused woman find happiness together?


Amazon    Barnesandnoble.com   Samhain

Share

Coming Soon–My First Indy Published Release!

Over the Labor Day Weekend I . . . well . . . labored. But it was a labor of love. I’ve been working hard onmy first independently published release — my mainstream fiction novel What She Never Expected. By”independently published” I mean that I’m doing everything for this one all by myself. I’m the writer, the publisher, the literary agent, the editor. (Although I did have help with the editing thanks to my fab critique group!)  I even designed the cover and I’m formatting the text for Kindle and other e-readers. This book will,for the time being at least, only be available as an e-book. No walking into the local bookstore for me this time and seeing my new book on the shelf — I’ll miss that. But I’m still very excited!

What She Never Expected is a mainstream novel, comparable in tone and story type to the early books in the now-defunct Harlequin NeXt line that I used to write for. If you read and enjoyed my Rita nominated novel The Me I Used To Be, chances are good you’ll like this book, too. It’s a story of family, of secrets uprooted that twist and tangle and complicate the protagonist Maggie Mahoney’s carefully planned life. It’s a story of a woman who is old enough to have regrets, and wise enough to search her own heart for forgiveness. It’s about love lost . . . and love found. And how the past affects the present. I hope to launch the book in the next couple of weeks. Check back here soon for the blurb! Meanwhile, happy reading!

Jennifer

P.S. I’d love to hear what you think of the cover if you’d like to leave a comment!

Share

And The Winner Is…

Thanks to all of you who offered your opinions on the two book cover choices for my non-fiction book Happiness Rehab: 8 Creative Steps to a More Joyful Life. My co-author, Mary Schramski, and I read all of your responses and after a lot of thought, we’ve decided on the cover with the feet on the beach! We will be having some small adjustments made to the image. I’ll make sure to post the final version when the book is available to purchase!

I’ve thrown the names of the 17 responders into a hat and chosen at random the following 10 to receive a copy of one of my books (your choice!) or a $5 Barnes and Noble gift certificate. Here are the winners:

1. Amy @ Book Loving Mom

2. Caitlin

3. Ames

4. Karen Childress

5. Odyssey Rios

6. Stacey Anthony

7. Valia

8. Rebecca Harris

9. Paula Prieto

10. Christen Reighter

I will make an effort to contact each of you individually, however some did not leave contact information. If you don’t hear from me, please look at my books on my website, then email me at books@jenniferarcher.com and let me know which book you’d like, or if you’d prefer to receive a $5.00 Barnes and Noble gift certificate.

Again, thanks so much for your input! Your comments helped a lot in the decision-making process!

Share

Why I’m Loving This Week So Far…

1. Great news came my way yesterday! I’ve been selected as a featured author for the first Spirit of Texas Reading Program — Middle School. To quote the Texas Library Association, “The Spirit of Texas Reading Program is a recommended reading list developed by public and school librarians from the Young Adult Round Table (YART) of the Texas Library Association. The purpose of the list is to encourage students in grades 6-8 to explore a variety of current, quality books from Texas Authors, develop critical reading skills, and to encourage greater interaction between Texas authors, Texas Librarians, and Texas school children.”  My young adult novel THROUGH HER EYES will be the focus of a “ready-to-use” library program. See http://txla.org/groups/SpiritofTXMiddleSchool for more information on this wonderful program. I’m looking forward to visiting with teens in Texas libraries, and I’ll be heading to Ft. Worth in April to join the Spirit of Texas Session at the Texas Library Association Annual Conference. I’m excited and also very honored!

2. More great news from my publisher yesterday. THROUGH HER EYES will be released in paperback on September 18 — just two months away! I hope the paperback introduces Tansy, Papa Dan, Henry and the rest of the residents of Cedar Canyon, both living and dead, to more new readers.

and finally . . . I’m loving this week because . . .

3. BLAME IT ON THE BABY (adult romantic comedy), a short novella that I originally published in 1999, was re-released on Tuesday as a $1.99 e-book with a brand new cover. (Love that baby bump!) BLAME IT ON THE BABY features the young couple Tory and Dillon from BODY AND SOUL. They’re married now and expecting a baby . . . only things get mixed up in a big way when an act of fate results in Dillon becoming the first man ever to experience being pregnant. This was a very fun story to write! Having Dillon switch bodies with Tory was sweet revenge. I mean, what pregnant woman hasn’t wished that her husband could trade places with her for just one minute?

Here’s hoping the good weeks keep on coming! I hope yours is great so far, too.

Happy Reading,

Jennifer

 

Share

Welcome!

Welcome to my new home on the web! I hope you like the look and style as much as I do.  I’m planning on making a lot more changes in the weeks ahead, but wanted to get up and running as soon as possible because there’s a lot going on in my writing world that I wanted to share.

First, my early romance novels are being re-released by Samhain Publishing in ebook format with new covers! Check out the latest ebook releases of BODY AND SOUL and ONCE UPON A DREAM on the Adult Fiction page. My novella, BLAME IT ON THE BABY, is next up – scheduled for release in July. I’ll post the cover soon.

Second, my editor at HarperTeen sent the intriguing and scrumptiously gorgeous cover for my next novel, THE SHADOW GIRL! I’m not sure if I can wait until April, 2013 for the book’s release.

And finally, I’m hard at work on a non-fiction book about the happiness/creativity connection called HAPPINESS REHAB: 8 CREATIVE STEPS TO A MORE JOYFUL LIFE that I’m co-writing with my friend, author Mary Schramski, PhD. It’s been a fun and interesting experience. I’ll tell you more about it in the weeks and months ahead.

I hope you’ll come back and visit often. To celebrate the launch of my new site, I’m going to be giving away prizes, including books!

Until next time…

Happy Reading,

Jennifer

Share

Post Navigation

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers: